It is important to erase your iPhone or iPad before you hand it over to someone else.
The most common cases is when someone sells an iPhone or gives it to a family member to use.

Video: How to Erase iPhone

Or follow the written instructions below…

How to Erase iPhone

I’ll show you what to do to completely wipe your iPhone or iPad and make sure no data is left on it.

1. Backup iPhone

When you wipe your iPhone, all data will be lost forever.
I strongly advise that you backup your iPhone to iCloud or to your computer using iTunes.

See more instructions on how to backup your iPhone using iCloud or iTunes.

Here is a quick illustration of backing up your iPhone over iCloud.
Just go to Settings > General > iCloud > Backup and turn it on. Then select “Back Up Now“.

ios8-icloud-backup-enable

2. Sign Out of iCloud

Next sign out of the iCloud to make sure that your iCloud settings and data on your iPhone are completely removed. You don’t want to hand your phone over to someone else with your personal iCloud data still on there.┬áThis includes iCloud Drive, Photos, Contacts, Calendars, Find my iPhone, Keychain and more.

To do this, go to Settings > iCloud then scroll down to the bottom and select “Sign Out“.
You will be asked to confirm that you want to delete the account and then confirm to delete the data.
You’ll be asked to enter your iCloud password as confirmation.

3. Erase All Content and Settings

The last and final step is to erase all content and settings.
Make sure that you are aware you are erasing all data or that you have a backup saved.

ipad-iphone-ios9-settings-erase-content-hero

Go to Settings > General > Reset > Erase All Content and Settings.
You’ll be asked to enter your passcode and and then select “Erase iPhone” twice to confirm.

That’s it, you’re done. All your personal data is now removed from your iPhone.
When you’re done, the iPhone will be like a new iPhone, starting with the setup.

Please leave a comment if this helped you, if you have any questions or advice!